Reviews - The Bridge

Beyond expectations - Rating 5/5

A welcoming roaring fire, beautifully appointed bedroom, antique furniture and breakfasts to beat all breakfasts - all our needs were kindly met for our weekend in January.

Reviewer:Jane J | Wed 22nd Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


The Bridge - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy with a genuine nice guy host, who has great local knowledge and a keen eye for some lovely art which is displayed throught The Bridge.Quiet location in a quiet town (in autumn at least).I wish them every success.

Reviewer:Michael P | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


Big Scottish welcome- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel. Owner/manager very welcoming and helpful and he cooks a fab breakfast. Very clean hotel.

Reviewer:Valentina S | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

A must stay on the North 500. Take the time to chat to your host, he is a delightful and interesting man who deserves to do well. Nothing was too much trouble

Reviewer:Jenefer A | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Clean, comfortable and cosy accommodation- Rating 5/5

Stayed here recently for a night during our tour of Scotland. This is a very well run establishment, with a friendly welcome from the very helpful owner. Easy to find from the A9, free parking, immaculately clean throughout, very comfortable and spacious room with a huge bathtub and large tv. Slept very well and e joyed a decent breakfast. No bar or restaurant- only a breakfast room (which could probably also be used as a dining room), but a good restaurant next door, several pubs nearby and a Spar over the road. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs C E | Sat 5th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Fantastic hotel. Great location. Great comfortable rooms. The breakfast was delicious. Great room rates. The owner was very helpful. And I will be definately be staying there again and recommended if your in the area stay at the bridge Hotel. Thank you for great stay

Reviewer:daniel e | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay at The Bridge - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Bridge in the family room over 3 nights in September 19. The family room is very large and comfortable and would be ideal for a family of 4. The bathroom had a full range of complimentary toiletries.Each afternoon and evening there was a welcoming fire in the reception area and the sofas here provided a comfortable place to sit, relax and talk to other residents.( and sample the shortbread).Breakfast was in the form of a hot and cold buffet with attentive staff.Good Pubs and places to eat are a very short stroll along the High Street.All in all a lovely, comfortable and welcoming place to stay that I would recommend.

Reviewer:Sharon D | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


Good value. - Rating 5/5

We had a comfortable weekend at the Bridge Bed and Breakfast. The room was spotless, bed extremely good, plush new white towels, plenty hot water and as much central heating as you required. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast at the self-service buffet, generous pots of tea and coffee were made to order and brought to the table by the owner. We booked direct for the best price. We would certainly recommend a stay here in this interesting building a pretty coastal village.

Reviewer:Marylaura H | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Bridge - Rating 5/5

Rooms and hotel very clean and modern. Warm and toasty room which was ideal with autumn in the air. Breakfast choices excellent with several local establishments for evening meals available

Reviewer:Andrew W | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Unique and irresistible - Rating 5/5

The "guest house"retains the atmosphere of the original coaching inn from two centuries ago. But everything is now perfectly maintained, works well and is comfortable. The carpets are new and good;the doors do not squeak;thick walls and double glazing shelter you from any excesses of the North Sea weather. Poke about in the hotel wherever you like and you will find no muddle, no hidden mess, nothing to offend. For example, we found a beautiful and spacious family suite, a cosy television lounge, an astonishing meeting room with the feel of the past century, and we enjoyed a welcoming lounge area with open fire by which we could chat easliy with other guests.The breakfast was varied and plentiful, with as much good coffee to drink as we could manage.Our bathroom was large and warm;the hot water was plentiful, instant and hot. The location is delightful, peacefully facing the old Helmsdale bridge.The host, Hans, is entirely unique, He apparently runs everything single handed and with an attentive and pleasant efficiency that aims to give guests what they need on time and on demand. But he remains engagingly communicative, with time to spare for the most garrulous visitor.There is no bar, which gives a pleasant feeling of being at home with friends rather than trapped in a pub. There is no restaurant, but adjacent eateries in Helmsdale fill the gap easily.We paid £80 per night for a standard of comfort, cleanliness and service only to be obtained in cities for well over twice that price, and for a sense of place that is increasingly rare.Go there:you will not regret it.(This is my tripadvisor review too)

Reviewer:Anton E | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Family with Adult Children - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hospitality was great, bed was extremely comfortable, great breakfast!

Reviewer:Marcia D | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


A little gem- Rating 5/5

Fabulous place, nice and peaceful with simple yet very comfortable rooms. Perfect hosts and a very good breakfast. A lovely little village, enjoyed an early morning walk around and down to the harbour, very picturesque.This hotel is definitely on my ‘go to’ list of places to stay in the future.

Reviewer:Paul G | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


GREAT ACCOMMODATION - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a wonderful stay, except that it wasn't long enough.Our host was great, and very welcoming. Our room was very nice, clean and very comfortable. Also the breakfast was amazing! The Hotel was very centrally situated in Helmsdale. Our only critisism was the Wifi. The Wifi was very tempremental;slow, or not there one minute, and good the next. It made it very difficult watching anything online;or even doing basic tasks like email or going on Facebook. We look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Kenneth D | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


The Mahoneys - Rating 5/5

Excellent rooms Good breakfast.A most enjoyable stay

Reviewer:michael M | Wed 28th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Sehr schönes renoviertes Hotel - Rating 5/5

Helmsdale ist ein hübscher kleiner Ort zum Übernachten . Das Hotel liegt ruhig und ist gepflegt. Das Frühstück war sehr reichhaltig. Abendessen kann man in den umliegenden Restaurants.

Reviewer:Nicole K | Fri 23rd Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic B&B with excellent customer service- Rating 5/5

Stayed here for two nights as part of our Lands End to John O’Groats walk.Hans (the owner) was very welcoming and accommodating. Our room was very nice indeed, spacious, well decorated with a lovely big comfortable bed. Hans was happy to provide a laundry service for us during our stay and was exceptionally accommodating with allowing a late check out for which he levied no charge. Breakfast was also very good with a buffet style delivery of both hot and cold foods. All in all a great bed and breakfast with well done out rooms, in a lovely old building, run/owned by a great guy and in the centre of the village.

Reviewer:Steven J | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

A very excellent hotel. The room was lovely, very clean, good breakfest

Reviewer:Sonia B | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Welcoming reception - Rating 5/5

Everything was excellent, right from the welcoming reception, down to the pristine room. Thank you!

Reviewer:Martynas M | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic family room - a real find! - Rating 5/5

Wonderful one night stay in this amazing family room - huge and recently refurbished suite really with adjoining rooms (one with king and one with twin) and family bathroom.Quite location in lovely village. Friendly owner and roaring fire in hall.COmpletely recommend. - perfect stop for us on way north.

Reviewer:Clare N | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Bike Trip Stop - Rating 5/5

A fantastic and clean hotel with a welcoming host/owner.The room was great as was the breakfast.Highly recommended especially if doing a road trip.

Reviewer:Tim L | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Great Find - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our three nights at The Bridge. We had a lovely sunny room at the front. The owners are very helpful and are clearly putting a lot of energy into the lovely old building. Breakfast was excellent. The Helmsdale valley is stunning. We’d certainly return. Super value for the reasonable price charged and weappreciated the thoughtful touches like the fire in the lounge and the decent shortbread on the tea tray!

Reviewer:Ian D | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayedher for 3 nights while fishing the Helmsdale river.Hans and his family have done a great job refurbishing.The room was very comfy and clean. Breakfast was excellent with plenty choice.I highly recommend it and I will definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Walter M | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


One of the best. - Rating 5/5

This hotel was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable.The all you can eat breakfast was amazing.Definately recommend.

Reviewer:Steve T | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


North coast 500 - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Bridge on our way around the North Coast 500 and it was a really nice surprise, the room was fantastic very big in fact it was 2 rooms plus the bath room, owner was really nice and nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was good and all in all a great stop.

Reviewer:Richard D | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


A gem of a hotel - Rating 5/5

The Bridge at Helmsdale is a delight. The rooms were spotless, bed comfy &breakfast was fab.Hans could not have been more helpful. Brilliant one night stay !!!

Reviewer:Peter B | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Myself and partner stayed here on an overnight stop on the road home to Orkney.We were met and looked after by the friendly staff from arrival to departure.Very clean and well presented rooms, breakfast was varied and substantial.Excellent hotel in the bonny wee villlage of Helmsdale.

Reviewer:Fraser R | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, huge bed, fantastic breakfast.Very friendly, amazing shortbread - couldnt ask for more - booked one night but stayed for two as so nice. Would highly recommend and would definately stay again.

Reviewer:Lisa F | Thu 4th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Perfect place to stay, wish we had booked another night. We have stayed in lots of places on our travels this couple of weeks and the Bridge our shine them all.Friendly, comfortable and great value.

Reviewer:Linda S | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Great stay at the Bridge - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Bridge twice on my trip so was in two rooms. Both had plenty of space with plenty of room for storage and good facilities. Breakfast was good in a nice dining room. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Hans was helpful, friendly and interested in the guests. Well placed in Helmsdale. I will be back next year!! Very pleased. Thanks Hans. Mike Hall.

Reviewer:michael h | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Loved it! - Rating 5/5

Nice big light filled room, lovely lounge with open fire, close to lots of cafes and restaurants,top breakfast.

Reviewer:Edward Van Der P | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel. Lovely room, friendly staff and very nice breakfast. Will stay again

Reviewer:Thomas S | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Highly recommended!!! - Rating 5/5

Retro style hotel in a quiet place. Fantastic and very helpful manager. Nice rooms, clean and tidy. And the price is right as well. Highly recommended!!!

Reviewer:Krzysztof K | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely old hotel.Beautiful location. - Rating 4/5

We were a group of four couples touring the NC500 route.Hans made us very welcome when we arrived and had light a lovely fire in the lounge.No bar or restaurant but Hans directed us to the fantastic fish and chip restaurant next door, and left glasses out for us so we could drink our own wine when we returned from the restaurant..Large clean, well decorated rooms.Good food.

Reviewer:phill c | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 10 months ago


Weekend at The Bridge in May. - Rating 4/5

I really enjoyed this weekend in spite of chilly winds affecting walks. But the welcome at The Bridge was warm and hospitable,every care taken to ensure I was comfortable and well advised about local amenities.

Reviewer:Dorothy H | Wed 15th May 2019 | 10 months ago


The Bridge - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay in a very lovely location. The staff were really helpful and made our stay extremely pleasant and the hotel is wonderful!

Reviewer:Colin R | Wed 15th May 2019 | 10 months ago


in helmsdale for auntys funeral - Rating 5/5

Bridge was luvly room was large bed big so comfortable 10/10 hans couldn't do enough for us definitely go back again

Reviewer:rosie s | Thu 9th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

Great location. Historical building facing the old bridge. Big comfortable room and bathroom. Warm welcome. Generous breakfast

Reviewer:Paul M | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


1 night break - Rating 5/5

Felt like a home from home.Made to feel very welcome and very relaxing surroundings.

Reviewer:Rhona M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights for the 2019 Salmon opening on the Helmsdale. Excellent B&B service, lovely room and a really good bath for a long hot soak after a day on the river. Host is most accommodating and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone

Reviewer:Andy M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


No sighs at this bridge - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Bridge. Lovely accommodation. Great welcome and hospitality from owners. Fantastic breakfast. Only a stones throw from station (journey up from Inverness takes time but worth it for fantastic views). Great shore and country walks. Great golf course only one stop south at Brora. And above all great value for money. Check it out!

Reviewer:John F | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Even though i only stayed for one night, this was a pleasant experience.The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, the facilities were good, and the breakfast was very good.I would recommend thus hotel highly, and will be looking to book again should i be working in the area again.

Reviewer:Paul S | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


the bridge helmsdale - Rating 5/5

great place to stay slept well good breakfast

Reviewer:William D | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel - our room nuber 11 was a big room, quiet, big bathroom, spotlessly clean and comfy large bed.We had a nice reception when we arrived and the breakfast is good. Great spot to stay on way round North 500.Only downside - hotel not connected to banking not good that bank card details being read out in reception!But I am sure this will be sorted soon.

Reviewer:Ann F | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable hotel - Rating 5/5

Hans the proprietor of this hotel was great...he couldn't do enough for you. His breakfast was superb! Everything was fresh and hot. His knowledge of local area was invaluable. Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer:Frank H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Good job - Rating 5/5

From the moment you walk in you know the owners know what they are doing. Big rooms all new fittings, great staff, big fire and a big welcome. A bit disappointed no bar but it will come on time. Will be back thank you so much

Reviewer:Gerald M | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


What a tremendous experience - Rating 5/5

An unmissable experience. 1816 house in conversion to an hotel. Rooms stunning. Our family in a joined twin with double - huge and luxurious! Breakfast delicious. Family run. Son, Hans, lovely guy - invited us to a huge room with an old grand piano and let our eldest girl play it! What a privilege! Great base for north east exploring or as a stopover on way to Orkney. Helmsdale itself, lovely little fishing village. Dinner next door in La Mirage. We look forward to returning on our next holiday.

Reviewer:Scott H | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Newly refurbished property - Rating 5/5

Overnight stay at this recently refurbished place. All done to a very high standard, excellent cooked breakfast, large &comfortable room.

Reviewer:Carolyn G | Thu 26th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


very happy- Rating 5/5

stayed for 2 nights to attend local wedding ..delighted to see hotel up and running again. great big clean room and bathroom. buffet breakfast was great and plentifull. only thing missing was a bar !! hopefully this will come .. highly recommend a stay at the bridge ..

Reviewer:kim m | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, welcoming and very good value for money.

Reviewer:Alex F | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Over night stay - Rating 4/5

We stay here as we had a party in the village.I booked direct with the guest house and you get a better deal that way.On arriving lovely building and nice and friendly people at reception. We got booked in and were shown where the breakfast room was and as they have not got there licence yet ( this is because they have only just opened in June after renovations ). They also do not do meals.When I booked I asked for a front facing room, but did not get this so was a bit disappointing as got a room looking on to a roof.However the room was of good size, very spacious had the normal tea, coffee &biscuits and all so highland spring water . Also a hairdryer.The linen was nice and fresh &clean, pillows very good quality and comfy bed.The bathroom was spacious and nice and clean also. We had a bath with a shower head but I think this was for decoration as would have been fine if you could of had somewhere to hang it up, there was no screen or shower curtain. I would of preferred to have a shower.The only fault I would say they had put the heating on and was far to hot in the room even with the window open all night.At breakfast, dinning room very nice. It is a self service but they bring you tea or coffee what ever you prefer.The full cooked breakfast is of good quality and plenty of it. and there is cereal &fruit, not a big selection but ok, also fruit juice.We would stay here again if we are in the area, and they did say should you be in the area pop in for a coffee.

Reviewer:Heather A | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago