Reviews - The Bridge

Loved it! - Rating 5/5

Nice big light filled room, lovely lounge with open fire, close to lots of cafes and restaurants,top breakfast.

Reviewer:Edward Van Der P | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel. Lovely room, friendly staff and very nice breakfast. Will stay again

Reviewer:Thomas S | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Highly recommended!!! - Rating 5/5

Retro style hotel in a quiet place. Fantastic and very helpful manager. Nice rooms, clean and tidy. And the price is right as well. Highly recommended!!!

Reviewer:Krzysztof K | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely old hotel.Beautiful location. - Rating 4/5

We were a group of four couples touring the NC500 route.Hans made us very welcome when we arrived and had light a lovely fire in the lounge.No bar or restaurant but Hans directed us to the fantastic fish and chip restaurant next door, and left glasses out for us so we could drink our own wine when we returned from the restaurant..Large clean, well decorated rooms.Good food.

Reviewer:phill c | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend at The Bridge in May. - Rating 4/5

I really enjoyed this weekend in spite of chilly winds affecting walks. But the welcome at The Bridge was warm and hospitable,every care taken to ensure I was comfortable and well advised about local amenities.

Reviewer:Dorothy H | Wed 15th May 2019 | 2 months ago


The Bridge - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay in a very lovely location. The staff were really helpful and made our stay extremely pleasant and the hotel is wonderful!

Reviewer:Colin R | Wed 15th May 2019 | 2 months ago


in helmsdale for auntys funeral - Rating 5/5

Bridge was luvly room was large bed big so comfortable 10/10 hans couldn't do enough for us definitely go back again

Reviewer:rosie s | Thu 9th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

Great location. Historical building facing the old bridge. Big comfortable room and bathroom. Warm welcome. Generous breakfast

Reviewer:Paul M | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


1 night break - Rating 5/5

Felt like a home from home.Made to feel very welcome and very relaxing surroundings.

Reviewer:Rhona M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed two nights for the 2019 Salmon opening on the Helmsdale. Excellent B&B service, lovely room and a really good bath for a long hot soak after a day on the river. Host is most accommodating and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone

Reviewer:Andy M | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


No sighs at this bridge - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Bridge. Lovely accommodation. Great welcome and hospitality from owners. Fantastic breakfast. Only a stones throw from station (journey up from Inverness takes time but worth it for fantastic views). Great shore and country walks. Great golf course only one stop south at Brora. And above all great value for money. Check it out!

Reviewer:John F | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Even though i only stayed for one night, this was a pleasant experience.The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, the facilities were good, and the breakfast was very good.I would recommend thus hotel highly, and will be looking to book again should i be working in the area again.

Reviewer:Paul S | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


the bridge helmsdale - Rating 5/5

great place to stay slept well good breakfast

Reviewer:William D | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel - our room nuber 11 was a big room, quiet, big bathroom, spotlessly clean and comfy large bed.We had a nice reception when we arrived and the breakfast is good. Great spot to stay on way round North 500.Only downside - hotel not connected to banking not good that bank card details being read out in reception!But I am sure this will be sorted soon.

Reviewer:Ann F | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Comfortable hotel - Rating 5/5

Hans the proprietor of this hotel was great...he couldn't do enough for you. His breakfast was superb! Everything was fresh and hot. His knowledge of local area was invaluable. Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer:Frank H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Good job - Rating 5/5

From the moment you walk in you know the owners know what they are doing. Big rooms all new fittings, great staff, big fire and a big welcome. A bit disappointed no bar but it will come on time. Will be back thank you so much

Reviewer:Gerald M | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


What a tremendous experience - Rating 5/5

An unmissable experience. 1816 house in conversion to an hotel. Rooms stunning. Our family in a joined twin with double - huge and luxurious! Breakfast delicious. Family run. Son, Hans, lovely guy - invited us to a huge room with an old grand piano and let our eldest girl play it! What a privilege! Great base for north east exploring or as a stopover on way to Orkney. Helmsdale itself, lovely little fishing village. Dinner next door in La Mirage. We look forward to returning on our next holiday.

Reviewer:Scott H | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Newly refurbished property - Rating 5/5

Overnight stay at this recently refurbished place. All done to a very high standard, excellent cooked breakfast, large &comfortable room.

Reviewer:Carolyn G | Thu 26th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


very happy- Rating 5/5

stayed for 2 nights to attend local wedding ..delighted to see hotel up and running again. great big clean room and bathroom. buffet breakfast was great and plentifull. only thing missing was a bar !! hopefully this will come .. highly recommend a stay at the bridge ..

Reviewer:kim m | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, welcoming and very good value for money.

Reviewer:Alex F | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Over night stay - Rating 4/5

We stay here as we had a party in the village.I booked direct with the guest house and you get a better deal that way.On arriving lovely building and nice and friendly people at reception. We got booked in and were shown where the breakfast room was and as they have not got there licence yet ( this is because they have only just opened in June after renovations ). They also do not do meals.When I booked I asked for a front facing room, but did not get this so was a bit disappointing as got a room looking on to a roof.However the room was of good size, very spacious had the normal tea, coffee &biscuits and all so highland spring water . Also a hairdryer.The linen was nice and fresh &clean, pillows very good quality and comfy bed.The bathroom was spacious and nice and clean also. We had a bath with a shower head but I think this was for decoration as would have been fine if you could of had somewhere to hang it up, there was no screen or shower curtain. I would of preferred to have a shower.The only fault I would say they had put the heating on and was far to hot in the room even with the window open all night.At breakfast, dinning room very nice. It is a self service but they bring you tea or coffee what ever you prefer.The full cooked breakfast is of good quality and plenty of it. and there is cereal &fruit, not a big selection but ok, also fruit juice.We would stay here again if we are in the area, and they did say should you be in the area pop in for a coffee.

Reviewer:Heather A | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 12 months ago